your style is not lost.

We’ve known Paola for quite some time, and knew she was an ideal candidate for a Flaxen tawny makeover. She has been an amazing friend of mine(Flaxen) for over eight years now. We’ve been through a lot together. I’ve watched her evolve and grow and blossom into the woman she is today: the beautiful, intelligent, incredibly busy student and working mother of a 3-year-old boy and almost 2-year-old girl, step-mother to a 13-year-old girl, and wife to one grown man… well, as far as we know;). The thing about Paola, the wonderful thing that anyone who has ever been close to her knows and loves, is that she is a giver. She gives her heart au complet to the people she loves.. almost to a fault. The fault being that she sometimes overlooks herself in the process.

Anyone who is a mother knows how easy this is, after all of the diapers, lunches, cleaning up of lunches, playgroups, karate classes, dinners, cleaning up of dinners, and the ongoing battles to go to sleep. And anyone who knows a mother knows how incredibly strong and beautiful she is, yet how she seems to forget herself. Perhaps she hasn’t lost all of her baby weight, or she has, but things just don’t seem to be as firm as they used to be. There’s no time to do her hair and forget putting on makeup. Nothing fits the way it used to.. t-shirts and stretch pants have become the extent of her wardrobe. Even if she wanted to get some new clothes, who has the money? The only reading she does anymore is ‘goodnight moon’ and ‘cat in the hat’. And by the time the day has come to an end, the only desirable notion she has involving taking her clothes off, is to get into bed and fall asleep.

As a mother myself, I can attest to this: there is a sense of guilt affiliated with any perceived form of self-indulgence after having a child. And by ‘any perceived form’ I mean, anything really.. anything that has not to do with your child. This is a problem, my friends. Ever heard the flight attendant announce before takeoff the whole bit on “if an emergency arises, oxygen masks will fall… place yours on first before helping anyone else…”?? Think about it, people.

Upon commencing this blog, Paola told me that there were a couple of posts that we had written directed toward those who had possibly ‘lost’ their sense of style (Paola feeling like she had been one of them) that she felt helped inspire her to reconnect with and redefine her style as a mother, as a wife, and as the newest version of her. We are inspired by Paola, and know that there are so many other women out there like her, who may just need that little spark of inspiration themselves. So here’s to all of you..

revamped

“I read that first one(blog) about the ‘stay at home style’, and it had an impact on me. I realized I hadn’t been trying.. at all. And I felt like shit about it. I remember the piece about the day you didn’t leave the house, but you still put on some eye makeup… that quick makeup tutorial has been my go-to all summer. I mean, it literally takes like 3 minutes to do and it’s easy and makes me feel better… like I did SOMETHING. You need to do one for the winter!”

“… and then I just started paying more attention to what I was wearing. I threw out my maternity clothes, I got rid of things I never wore and I rediscovered some things I had forgotten about. I bought myself a few things too, things that I felt comfortable in, that were easy but cute.. dresses and a couple rompers. Nothing I had to think too hard about or spend too much time on..”

hair, make-up and styling by Flaxen Tawny

photography by TAB Photographic

Model: Paola Hoyos Bauer

4 thoughts on “your style is not lost.

  1. I love this one. I’m not a new mom but I am a home daycare provider and there are plenty of days that my wardrobe is shorts and a t-shirt or jeans and a sweatshirt. Any suggestions for an almost fifty year old who is surrounded by kids all day? Comfort is a must!

    P.S. Paola, you look beautiful!

    • Yes! You’re style isn’t lost either.. you just need to reconnect. A couple of easy ways to do this is to find women in a similar age bracket to you whom you admire, find attractive, etc. It’s important to be realistic as well… try to find someone who’s body type is similar to yours. I mean, we’d all love to look and dress like Heidi Klum, Cindy Crawford, and Madonna(or perhaps not)… but most of us weren’t blessed with their genes;). So, find this someone and use this person, or persons as a model for your desired image. I do this a lot to find inspiration for myself.. for clothing, hair and makeup. I keep magazine tear-outs of clothes or shoes I love, makeup I’d like to try, haircuts or colors I want or may want to work toward for the next season. Then, when you are out shopping, you will have a few ideas in mind to help guide your shopping trip and make it a little less overwhelming!
      As for comfort, you know what is most comfortable on you. Stretch pants are an option when paired with a patterned tunic top, for example. It’s all about trial and error. We need to try new things to discover new things!!
      And of course, Flaxen tawny are always here to help;)
      Keep us posted as to what you might try!!
      xoxo

Leave a Reply

