fonda ain’t got a motor in the back of her honda

When you’re an unpaid blogger, there are many concessions one needs to make in life. Lunch and dinners out are a thing of yesteryear. Cocktails every evening become water and netflix in the privacy of your own home. New clothes aren’t even an afterthought as you rummage around your closets and drawers looking for that shirt you used to hate. Jeans become cut off shorts that no longer fit you and shoes, well, talk to Eddie in Rockefeller Center and he can tell you how many times I have gotten my Giuseppe Zannotti sandals fixed there. And finally, a NYSC membership becomes Time Warner Cable’s Exercise On Demand channel 1025 in your living room. Ouch. This paragraph sorta hurt…but not as bad as EOD will (we’re into abbreves here at FT).

Yes, this concept of EOD sounds pretty hokey, but I must tell you, I exercise more now that I ever did at the gym. I was one of those chics meandering around with my Nalgene bottle gazing past the machines, then deciding on one, and lifting 10 pounds, 10 reps, 10 sets. And then getting on the elliptical and reading a magazine at a Level 3 incline. And then I would complain about why I wasn’t getting into better shape after going to the gym 5 days a week, for 45 minutes, tops!

It’s not at all like Jane Fonda or Olivia Newton John’s ‘let’s get physical’ style workouts. The exercises are actually intense, hard and frankly, work. I have never been happier with my stamina and performance (ahem, ahem please take that literally, not figuratively) even after playing sports all throughout High School.

So here are my top 5 picks, that can be found on Time Warner and Comcast programming:

1) Chris Freytag’s Walking Cardio Shape Up: For total body interval strength and cardio training in 45 minutes

2) Tandy Gutierrez’s Pilates Fit: Total body workout in 30 minutes and quite challenging

3) Stephanie Vittorino’s Bootylicious Buns 2: Booty Blasting 10 minute workout where you feel the pain right away (my 5 year old niece was working out with me and told me ‘please shut this off my butt hurts’)

4) Cindy Whitmarsh’s Incredible Abs Series:There are 7 videos, each 20 minutes long and murder on the core

5) Jay Johnson’s Boot Camp Series: There are 3 videos (cardio, legs and abs) and each one is 15 minutes and a stellar workout. Doing all three in one shot is no pain, no gain style and a real challenge

You can find all these workouts and more on exercisetv.com. Just think how proud you will make Sir Mix Alot 😉

One thought on “fonda ain’t got a motor in the back of her honda

Leave a Reply

